

Minutes of the PHIN Annual General Meeting 5 December 2023 (PB2368)

Location: Maynard Theatre, The King's Fund, 11-13 Cavendish Square, London W1G 0AN

Chair: Jayne Scott

Attendees

Member Representatives	
Doug Wright	Aviva
Ayodele Kazeem	AXA PPP Healthcare
James Sherwood	Bupa UK
Paul Manning	Circle Health
Mark Hamilton	Cleveland Clinic
Rosemary Hittinger	Federation of Independent Practitioner Organisations (FIPO)
Tim Cross	HCA International
Nick Fox	Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust
David Barron	King Edward VII's Hospital Sister Agnes
Emmett Steed-Mundin	King Edward VII's Hospital Sister Agnes
Ben Kelly	Nuffield Health
Angela Evans	Ramsay Health Care UK
Jo Jenner	Spencer Private Hospitals Ltd
Peter Corfield	Spire Healthcare
Daniel Verster	The New Victoria Hospital Limited
Terese Sheperdigian	The Royal Marsden NHS Foundation Trust
Christopher Gilbert	Vitality Health
Brian Goodman	Western Provident Association

PHIN Directors	
Jayne Scott	Chair
Don Grocott	Non-Executive Director/Deputy Chair
Professor Sir Cyril Chantler	Non-Executive Director
lan Gargan	Chief Executive
Jack Griffin	Chief Financial Officer
David Hare	Non-Executive Director
Michael Hutchings	Non-Executive Director
Nigel Mercer	Non-Executive Director
Keith Richards	Non-Executive Director
Hugh Savill	Non-Executive Director
Professor Sir Norman Williams	Non-Executive Director

Non-Voting Guests		
Professor Michael Nathanson	Association of Anaesthetists	
Mark Bassett	Bassett Consulting	
Mark Sherlock	Brebners	
Peter Holden	British Medical Association	

PHIN

George Brenton	Competition & Markets Authority
Adam Land	Competition & Markets Authority
Richard Aris	Healthcode Ltd
Phil Batty	Independent Doctors Federation
Sally Taber	The Independent Sector Complaints Adjudication Service (ISCAS)
Simina Oprea	iWantGreatCare/Top Doctors
Jon Twinn	iWantGreatCare/Top Doctors
Judy Gash	NHS England
Richard Wells	PHIN Director of Healthcare Informatics designate
Tony Cassin-Scott	Practicus
Andrew Vaux	Practicus

PHIN Staff – In Attendance	
David Minton	PHIN Leadership Team
Jonathan Finney	PHIN Leadership Team
Mona Shah	
	PHIN Leadership Team
Adam Broderick	PHIN Corporate Team
Andreea Dascalu	PHIN Corporate Team
Ellie Griffiths	PHIN Corporate Team
Jessica Harcourt	PHIN Corporate Team
Nicola Slade	PHIN Corporate Team
Michael Attenborough	PHIN Engagement Team
Tammy Bate	PHIN Engagement Team
Caroline Bodman	PHIN Engagement Team
Anne Coyne	PHIN Engagement Team
Megan Dunaway	PHIN Engagement Team
Jason Frazer	PHIN Engagement Team
Julie Kidd	PHIN Engagement Team
Oliver Lee	PHIN Engagement Team
Alistair Moses	PHIN Engagement Team
Greg Swarbrick	PHIN Engagement Team
Peter Mills	PHIN Informatics Team
Patrick Palmer	PHIN Informatics Team
Pooja Rupalia-Seyani	PHIN Informatics Team
Chris Smith-Brown	PHIN Informatics Team
Josh Vaughan	PHIN Informatics Team
Leonardo Falaschini	PHIN Technology Team
Lea McMahon	PHIN Technology Team

Minutes of the Meeting

At 2.00pm Jayne Scott, the PHIN Chair, opened the formal meeting and welcomed all attendees.

In her opening remarks, the Chair was pleased to welcome Lindsay Condron and Mark Hamilton representing the Cleveland Clinic which had become a PHIN Member in December 2023.

The Chair was delighted to report that PHIN remained on track for delivery of the CMA Order, and that by October 2024, PHIN would have put in place a fully functioning minimum viable product. In addition, PHIN had commissioned an independent governance review to guarantee that the correct structures were in place for delivery.

2024 would build on the significant progress already made in serving patients. A programme of enhanced patient engagement and a refresh of the PHIN website would take place in 2024 which would see a step change in what PHIN delivered for patients.



The Chair advised that 4 very experienced and long standing Non-Executive Directors (NEDs) on the PHIN Board would be standing down over the course of 2024. These were Professor Sir Cyril Chantler, Don Grocott, Michael Hutchings and Professor Sir Norman Williams. The Chair thanked them for their commitment, insight and invaluable guidance to PHIN and noted that they would be a great loss to the Board. A NED recruitment process was underway to bring new insight and experience to the PHIN Board.

The Chair extended thanks to the PHIN staff, PHIN Board and all stakeholders for their considerable support and achievements in 2023 and concluded by thanking the CMA and the Partnership Forum for their continued support.

The Chair proposed the following Ordinary Resolution to the meeting and noted that the Minutes of the 2022 meeting had been circulated prior to the meeting:

Resolution 1:

To approve the Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 6 December 2022.

Resolution 1 was carried

There were 15 votes for the Resolution (1 proxy vote received prior to the meeting and 14 votes in the room). There were no votes against and 1 abstention.

Overview of Report and Accounts 2022-2023

Prior to moving to Resolution 2, the Chair invited Jack Griffin (JG), PHIN Chief Financial Officer to speak.

Noting that the detailed financial statements for the year ended 31 July 2023 had been sent to Members in advance of the AGM, JG provided attendees with an overview of the balance sheet highlighting both the reserves position and cash and aged debt position.

JG reported that the Auditors had returned an unqualified audit opinion.

There were no questions.

The Chair proposed the following Ordinary Resolution to the meeting:

Resolution 2:

Approval of Annual Report and Financial Statements for the year ended 31 July 2023.

Resolution 2 was carried

There were 15 votes for the Resolution (1 proxy vote received prior to the meeting and 14 votes in the room). There were no votes against and 1 abstention.

The Chair invited JG to provide an overview of the 2023-24 Budget.

2023-24 Budget Update

JG provided a summary of the 2023-24 budget and confirmed that it was in line with the plan agreed in July 2022.

JG asked for questions, and none were forthcoming.

There being no other business, the Chair drew the formal business of the AGM to a close at 2.09pm